British Military - The Falklands War

i am interested in hearing from anyone regarding this ‘war’ .

I am not an expert in this area and do not wish to say something that is inaccurate. I hope that no one will moderate this item and take it off the web site for some reason, after all its a new thread as yet unexplored.

i have posted other bits only to have them wiped off. the info posted was to show how items posted by others on canoes were not accurate, so i am hoping as thiese are questions rather than accurate statement that it will be allowed.

i beleive the Falklands islands are near ARGENTINA but are the sovereign islands of the British Isles.

i understand that these islands were occupied by british nationals at the time and had a govenor in situ. the islands were invaded by ?7,000? ARGENTINE troops. the army was under instructions ? to invade by the then military junter.

these islands are, i believe, a long way from the united kingdom , they have, offshore, reserves of oil and now a thriving tourist industry.

I also understand that during the invasion /occupation the interior of houses and shops had been used by the argentine forces as toilets. another sad point is that the relatives of the dead Argentine soldiers have to travel to the falklands to visit the graves as the bodies have remained in situ (tended by the british islanders) due to the fact that the Argentine government have reasoning on the lines that the bodies are on argentine soil. people wanting to visit apparently need to have visas and this is a sticking point as the argentine gov think they dont need to have visas and therefore the graves dont get visited.

i only hope that some argentine relatives are able to visit… its bad enough have your child die in a pointless conflict but quite another not to be able to visit the grave because its to far away to visit.

i would be intersted to here other facets of this history of what i believe the argentine people call Malvinos?