Favourite American President

Okay let’s balance things a bit. We all tend to look at the negative side of things when we discuss politicians. But they must have some good points and I do not for one minute believe every president since Kennedy has been a dud.

I’m not an expert on American politics at all, but I believe Kennedy was a good president despite his failings, Johnson was a man’s man and I think Jimmy Carter was a decent man out of his depth and perhaps could have been a better president had he been more solid on foreign affairs.

Regards digger:D

Mate, he was a turd. Like most politicians.

If only because he did sweet FA to earn the Silver Star he proudly wore for being on a plane that turned back from anywhere he might have been at risk. And did nothing to correct the sorry record which gave him that totally undeserved award.

He was just one of many that MacArthur sucked up to in his usual shameless and self-seeking fashion.

There are thousands of American blokes who dug rear area shit pits all over the Pacific who took more risks, and contributed more to the war effort, than Johnson did with his useless little flight.

http://www.b-26marauderarchive.org/ms/MS1709/MS1709.htm

http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/2001/johnson.silver.star/story/storypage.html

And just for a little balance on WWII myths claimed by Cold War politicians, what was the true background to JFK and the sinking of PT 109?

Good US presidents? The only ones I can think of since WW2 are Truman, Eisenhower and Reagan (and I suspect Reagan may have been good more by accident than design).

Bit of a conflict here.

Truman was an accidental president, like Johnson. Unlike Johnson, he was a better president. If only because he had a clear and simple vision and pursued it, unlike Johnson’ pusillanimous approach to Vietnam.

JFK was good but offended some powerful interests. He was the most popular of all the post-war presidents, which means something in a democracy.