Help Identifing photos

Hi,

Attached are scans of photos from my dad’s WWII collection. He served in an Engineering company. I believe it’s the 74th. These photos appear to be taken in Germany. My assumption is they are from a German POW but it’s really a mystery. Any info is appreciated.

All I can say offhand is that firstly, the 2 U boat photos are WWI and the last photo is of The Place Vendôme Column in Paris.

Pic 4 is showing a typical make-shift POW camp in Germany at the end of the war.

I am certainly not an expert concerning submarines but I dare to disagree here.
If I’m not mistaken photo 2 shows U-2 and U-4, both Typ II A models, flying the old German naval flag which was used until 1935 officially. In common pre-war manner the boats’ ID’s were displayed on the turret.

In photo 3 the later naval & war flag (incl. swastika) can be seen on at least three boats in the front row.

I’m no naval expert either, but those U-boats are definitely not WWI vintage, but are prewar or WWII…

Photo one looks like a manipulated photo.

It would be an extraordinary occasion for so many weapons to be firing tracer from so many positions and a photographic miracle for it to be captured at exactly the same moment with even the best of the low light lenses available during WWII while still managing to capture any definition of the building lower right. I say this from my ancient experience in photography of the black and white film with negative type which is this sort of photo.

Moreover, most of the tracer trajectories are fairly low and not consistent with a bomber attack which has been attributed to this photo:
“21 juli 1940: The intense flak faced by aircraft attacking German warships (Admiral Scheer) in Wilhelmshaven on the night of 20-21 July 1940. No.61 Squadron lost three Hampdens during this raid.” http://www.dagelijksestandaard.nl/2010/07/dwarsdoorsnede-van-een-oorlog-21-juli/