Japanese Ordnance Collectors

In March of 2007 we had a meeting of Japanese ordnance collectors at my home in Michigan. A number of serious collectors brought examples from their collections for discussion and photography. On display during that time were inert projectiles, mines, fuzes, grenades and rare ammunition items such as the 120mm mortar, the Type 23 grenade, the 150mm Japanese Naval Short Mortar, the B model stick grenades and the Japanese 60mm mortar. Ordnance was discussed in detail, documents were scanned and shared and participants viewed and offered their comments and advice on the work-in-progress Japanese Explosive Ordnance of WWII, which is currently over 800 pages and growing.

This meeting was hosted by two of us with an avid interest in Japanese ordnance. We are both collectors and are well known within the ordnance and Japanese collecting communities. Japanese Explosive Ordnance of WWII is something I have been working on for several years now, the creation of a new photographic identification guide for all Japanese explosive ordnance. In this effort I have been visiting museums, archives, bomb disposal units, private collectors and ordnance recovery sites across the globe. In addition to the display of some fantastic pieces of history, this meeting gives me the opportunity to get collector and researcher feedback on the efforts so far on the book, identifying its strengths and weaknesses.