New to this forum

Hi Guys, Just found ths forum and seems to be pretty nice. I have been collecting Japanese for a few years how. Thought I show you one of my favorite Japanese weapons.

strangms

The so-called knee mortar. There were tales of misguided GIs thinking the curved baseplate was held against the shin ! :shock:

Wonder if any Viets made a similar mistake with the US M59 ball grenade ?

the knee mortor seems to used as a grenade launcher. how were they issued.?

It’s not a grenade launcher - the name gives it away: it’s a mortar.

Issued in a similar manner to the British 2" mortar, I believe.

one per platoon?

The Japanese Grenade in the picture, you hit it on your helmet and throw it, it will explode on any hard surface it contacts. :smiley: , perfer the British hand grenades though.

By the Way Strangms, welcome to World War Two in Colour, if you need any help or a question to ask your welcome to ask me through private messaging located at the top of the site mate. :wink: :smiley:

Where do you get your gen from Cdo ?

The gren pictured, the Model 91, is operated by removing the safety, striking the fuze head against a hard object and throwing it.
It will explode when the, often highly erratic, fuze burns down.
It does not ‘explode on any hard surface it contacts.’

(Extra post noted.)

HI Guys,
Thanks for the welcome!
The Type 89 mortar used both the type 88 Mortar round and the type 91 grenade. Notice the booster on the grenade,this is for using in the mortar, I guess you could throw it. The type 97 and 99 grenade were the ones that they threw.
When the firing pin struck the primer in the booster it would sent the grenade out of the barrel. This grenade was also used in the Type 10 mortar.

The Japanese were very skilled in using this mortar, many of our officers want a weapon like it. The Army estimated that 80% of mortar casualties came form the “Knee Mortar”.