Numbers between toes ?

First time poster and total newbie so I’d like to say hi to everyone here.

I’m guessing someone here might be knowledgeable on this one.
Does anyone have any ideas as to which of the WWII german soldiers would be likely to have a number (no i don’t know what number) tattooed between their toes?

My good lady’s grandfather was a german POW who was subsequently repatriated and so she never got to ask - her mother has also lost touch.

The toe tattoo is something she has always been curious and wondered about.

Any help, info or ideas much appreciated.

I never ever heard of any toe tattoos with German soldiers. The only ones I know about are the SS blood type tattoos on the crook of the left arm.

Same here, except I think the term ‘crook of the arm’ might mean different things in English and German.

In my English usage (which quite possibly is entirerly different to Scottish let alone American English usage :wink: :smiley: ), the crook is the inside of the elbow, while the SS blood groups were on the inside of the arm near the armpit.

Right, I would’ve picked the words “inside of the left upper arm” but I picked one shitty translation software instead.:oops:

As a matter of interest in light of the revelation that you used a translator, how good is your English?

You’ve always struck me as having close to perfect conversational English, which is more (often considerably more) than some of our supposedly native English speakers manage on this forum.

Your English is vastly better than anyone could achieve using a translator all the time.

Do you just need one now and again for unusual words or phrases?

First of all thanks for the compliment. Given the fact that Germans are said to be incompatible with any kind of languages but German, I guess I’m fine.
Normally I don’t use a translator but I like to check while using potential anatomic terms like ‘crook of the arm’.:wink:

Not intended as a compliment, just a factual observation.