Pre World War II Photos of the 11 FA at Hawaii

“I have a few Pre World War II photos of the 11 FA at Hawaii from my father. These are early color, but interesting. If you are interested I can scan them in and post them tomorrow.”

I posted this earlier, I am new to much of this. I was able to scan the photo easier than I thought I would. I have a black and white of a Mule Unit in a Dress Parade for the Secretary of the Treasury in 1937 at Schofield. I will post it later on.

My father was in the 11 Field Artillery at Schofield from 1937 until 1940 at which time he was Honorably Discharged. He immediately enlisted in the 11 Bombardment Group 7 TH AAC and served until 1945.

Welcome to the forum PA. Dutchman :slight_smile:

And thank you for sharing your father’s story and photographs from WWII. Very interesting and in color too.

All the Best,

George

Thank you very much. I have a number of early Field Artillery pieces, but they are in black and white. I will try to post the Mule Unit for you now.

I thought I had posted this gun position. Here it is now with the names he had written on the back in 1937/38

I can post it if anyone wants to see them. The 11 FA had a very complete and formal Dress Parade for the Sec. of the Treasury that President Roosevelt appointed.

The Mule Unit was a part of it but there is a flock of Carrier Pigeons as well in flight as part of the parade. I have that photo too if anyone wants to see it.

Is that a 155mm G.P.F. Gun (Coast Artillery)?

You may have already seen the following web pages before:

Battery A, 55th Artillery, CA.C.
Hawaii 1938-1941
http://freepages.military.rootsweb.com/~cacunithistories/55th_Arty_Hawaii.html

Coast Artillery Corps Weapons
155mm G.P.F. Gun
http://freepages.military.rootsweb.com/~cacunithistories/155mmgpf.htm
The 155mm Filloux Gun

No I did not see that link. Thank you so very much!

Here is a complete photo of the 11 F A in 1937.

My father is photo one, the top row, the sixth from the end.