T-34 - once more

Sorry to start once more, but as a newbie I have some comment to this tank - and the related thread is already closed

So hello My Dear Friends!

I have some interesting arguement topics:

1/ T-34 with or w/o radio

2/ T-34 engine

3/ T-34 construction

4/ T-34 in post WWII battles

regards:
TGR

Genrally we can say that the soviets had radio shortages at the beginning of the great patriotic war.
For commaders (back to platoon leaders) had radios - athe rest used flags.

FOR T-34 (I mean T-34(76)) the commanders had radio transreceivers (very often lend-lease) and the others (generally) radio receivers ONLY.
FOR T-34(85) this was the minimal standard, but usually EVERY tank had 2 way transreceivers (I am not a native speaker, I hope you understand me)

SO!
We has received some Soviet reports regarding the siege of Budapest, and Suprised a lot, reading the complains of the comamders that the communication with the T-34(85) tanks supporting their infantry troops was hard - BECAUSE the tanks had no radio.
They spottesd the targets several times with signal-rockets to the tank crews.

(Why??? in 1944/45???)
Answer: some of the tanks came not from the factory, but from overhault, were (I guess) just removed the injured radios and not replaced with a new one)

At bottom - the issue is not so simple as we thougt.

Regards:
TGR

The diesel engine was a good deision as lot of you already noted (better consumption, better torque, less flammable fuel, etc…)

the V-2 engine WAS NOT a soviet invention.
They bought Hispany Suiza V12 licences in the 30’s.

• V-12 aircraft engine - later the KLIMOV engine of famous Yak fighters, Pe-2 bombers.
  • V-12 AIRSHIP (!!!) diesel engine - they converted this to tank engien for BT-7 first time. And T-34 later on.

the diesel engine had some disadvantages too:

• Hard to start in winter condition
  • several unreabilites,

Taking in all round - the engine was a ggod attemp and took part of the succes of T-34!

regards:
TGR