Tenor of Posts in Photo Section

I doubt I am alone in having some concern about the tone of some of the posting going on in the Photo pages. I am aware that some type of policing seems to be going on: an example of blatant racism was apparently deleted before I could create a link in this post about it. But whatever oversight is happening, it doesn’t seem to addressing individual comments by some individuals. This lack of/low level of censorship seeming to attracting a growing number of people espousing, for instance, pro-Hitler viewpoints, or perhaps just folks who get their jollies by making provocative comments and then watching the fur fly. Are their rants really what the administrators of this site wish to be associated with? I think and hope not.

I don’t know how the owners envision this site, nor how other users see it. Personally, I am an amateur historian with an interest in photos and small arms of WWII. So I drop by here fairly often. Learning requires exchange of viewpoints as well as information, and I welcome such when it comes from well-balanced people and in polite tones. But frankly, I think this site would be vastly improved if there was a way to screen out some of the juvenile comments, as well as those that seem to hold, um, distorted political views? (While I haven’t stumbled across any yet – the section on Soviet forces seems disproportionately small – I daresay in time you’ll start finding posts promoting Stalinism - and resulting endless bickering with the pro-Nazi elements.) Already I’ve seen posts blaming Jews for the war and their own suffering, and I daresay “Holocaust Denial” will soon follow, if it hasn’t already. In addition to that, some of the captions being provided by those uploading photos are clearly being made up or come from people living in a very distant reality (for example, see http://www.ww2incolor.com/german/waffensstraining ).