The Deutsche Afrika Corps

I was watching a documentary on Rommel the other night, one of the statements made said that the DAK was somewhat substandard. They were not equal to the troops stationed in Europe. Is there some truth to that? BTW, this is my first time posting, so please be patient.

hmm…
I’ld love to understand what they mean with “substandard”?
What I do know about armoured material in DAK is somewhat comparable to Europe. The types of panzers shipped to the DAK was about the same. The balance of the types was about the same. The main spearhead was formed with Pz III and this shifted towards Pz IV with high velocity 75mm gun, which was delivered almost at the same time in the east. The Tiger tank actually fought itself succesfully into legend the first time in Tunesia, not Russia (where it slowly gained succes). Tiger tanks were not thrown everywhere for free…
The “ad hoc” tactics and adaption of foreign material was about the same. Many tanks of the enemy on different fronts were not regarded as useable. Many enemy guns were pressed into service. Rommel favoured a captured British command vehicle. etc etc…

The show did not really specify what it meant by substandard. I assume it meant both troops and equipment. I found that remark somewhat surprising since I always believed the Afrika Corps to be a very worthy adversary. I understand that it wasn’t the elite element of the German Armed forces, but it seems to me they distinguished themselves quite well, despite the Allies choking off their supply lines.

The DAK was outside the influence of the Waffen SS and the Gestapo , there were no atrocities and the treatment of pow’s on both side was relatively decent .

The best equipment went to the Russian front for sure, but the quality of the DAK troops would on average have been at least as good, if not better.