what is better the thompson smg or the mp40

i always had the question which is better caliber,damage,weight.i want to see what u ww11 fans think remember add tell me what you think :).

I always thought the .45 ACP over the 9mm with more muzzle energy and cross-sectional density. Even using hardball (FMJ) rounds. At least that’s what I read and learned when I started shooting in the late 70’s. Of course, I never used hardball for self-defense; either hollow points (Silvertips, Hydra-Shok, Black Talon) or frangible rounds (Glaser, Mag-Safe).
I don’t know of the weights of WWII .45 ACP or 9mm.

.45 a.c.p. is very good for anti personnel work, for which purpose it was developed. (against Moro tribesmen in the Philipines if memory serves) The large,slow, heavy slug of 230 troy grains (tho some may be lighter,or heavier) was more likely to knock the target down, even if that person was drugged up, and crazy.(again, Moro tribesmen) .
The 9x19mm is a high velocity round,(rough equal to the .357 magnum) but uses a very light slug, from 90-115 troy grains. Gilding metal also varied considerably, from copper, to cupernickle, to steel, even solid sintered iron. pressures also varied, so if you buy some surplus ammo, and own an alloy pistol, be sure you can safely use it in your pistol.
This probably made the schmeisser a more versatile weapon, suited equally to anti light vehicle, and anti personnel use. My fave is still the Thompson though, its a huge part of U.S. history, and those built by Colt, are works of art.

As much I might like the MP 40 I think for close combat the Thompson was a superior gun, the higher rate of fire and knock down power of the 45 bullet is quite something.

Agreed my friend, I had neglected to mention above that the Thompson is not limited to stick magazines as is the mp-40, so with a 50rd drum, or larger, it was just the trick for confined space engagements.