M-1 an M-2 Carbines in Korea and WWII

We are volunteer at the Korean War Veterans Memorial in DC and need some clarification on information passed along by visiting Vets, we want to make sure our info is correct.

Were both M-1(semi auto) and M-2 (selective fire) carbines used during the Korean War? Was there anything particular distinguishing about the M-2 Carbine, did it use a banana clip? Were the magazines interchangeable?

One odd feature was pointed out to me by a jarhead…excuse me a Marine, he had been to the Marine Corps Memorial and then came to the Korean Memorial. He pointed out to us that the Carbines depicted on the Marines Memorial had “bayonet clips” and that the carbines depicted at the Korean Memorial did not show these clips. According to him, the “bayonet clip” was a retrofit about 1945.
Which would mean the Marines at Iwo (2/45) would not have this retro and that the troops in Korean would have!

Any input…

I’m not a firearms expert by any means. But I’m under the impression that the M-2 Carbine would have been the prototypical weapon being issued not only to replace the M-1 Carbine, but the Thompson submachine-gun as well, during the Korean War era. There may have been some left over M-1 Carbines, especially around the beginning during the “Task Force Smith” days. But I’ve never seen a photo nor heard of their use in Korea. There is also a distinctive possibility that some M-1 Carbines were used by the Chinese PLA “Volunteers”. In fact, variants of the Thompson submachine-gun were issued to the Red Chinese and many were captured and used by the U.S. military. I suppose it’s possible the same thing happened with Carbines sent to the Nationalists that could have been captured by the PLA and issued. But I am unaware of any instance of this…

According to Wiki, there were still M-1 Carbines in “widespread use” mainly by support troops: M1 carbine - Wikipedia